The Mack Report

Boston Among 2015-18 Frozen Four Finalists

2013 Frozen Four Logo

The NCAA Men’s Ice Hockey Committee has announced the 10 finalists vying for bids to host the Frozen Four between 2015-18, and Boston has made the cut.

The finalists include: Boston, St. Paul, Brooklyn, Washington D.C., Tampa, Chicago, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia, Buffalo and Columbus.

Given that the 2015 tournament is just over a year away, it’s expected that the committee will select a city that has previously hosted a tournament for that year.

The winning bids are expected to be announced in late November.

From College Hockey News:

Washington D.C. (2009) and Tampa (2012) are “non-traditional” college hockey markets that most people considered to put on great Frozen Fours, and will likely be given strong consideration again. Pittsburgh and Philadelphia seem to be underdogs, because their bids have been so recent, with Pittsburgh hosting last year and Philadelphia this year.

Columbus hosted in 2005 at Ohio State’s on-campus arena. The bid this time is for Nationwide Arena, home of the NHL’s Columbus Blue Jackets. Buffalo hosted in 2003, and would get strong consideration, being in a traditional market and not having hosted in more than 10 years.

Although in non-traditional markets, Chicago and Brooklyn are both in very large cities, which could be appealing to the Committee. And they will both be housing major league basketball and hockey teams by 2015. Brooklyn’s arena, however, the Barclays Center, seats less fans for hockey than the other arenas, and has some sightline obstructions. There has been discussion of the arena rectifying that in time for the NHL’s New York Islanders to begin play there in 2015-16.