Connect with us


My Hockey East awards ballot

Hockey East will unveil its major award winners at tonight’s annual banquet, held at the Royal Sonesta hotel in Cambridge. Some of the honors were handed out yesterday (see below) with the major awards handed out tonight. The 28th annual Hockey East tournament will kick off tomorrow when Boston College and Providence drop the puck at 5 p.m. Maine and Boston University followup in the second semifinal game at 8 p.m.

Here are my picks for each of the major awards:

Bob Kullen Coach of the Year: Norm Bazin, Lowell

Last weekend’s results can’t tarnish what was a spectacular rookie season for Bazin behind the Lowell bench. No one expected the River Hawks to have as much success as they did in the regular season and Bazin helped calm what seemed to be a hectic atmosphere around this time last year.

Player of the Year: Chris Kreider, Boston College

Nope, not Spencer Abbott. In fact, I’d argue that Abbott isn’t even the best player on his own team, Brian Flynn is. Abbott scored a measly five points (0-5-5) in games vs. the three other top-four opponents this season. No goals in nine games. Flynn had nine points (2-7-9), Chris Kreider seven points (4-3-7) and Lowell’s Scott Wilson the leader with 10 points (6-4-10).

For my money, there wasn’t a better player in Hockey East this season than Chris Kreider. He has a pro-level combination of speed, size, strength and hands. He single-handily took over a game against Merrimack at Lawler Arena in February (despite only having 1 assist on the scoresheet). The things he can do with the puck, with his feet moving at full speed, are downright special. The New York Rangers have themselves a bona fide superstar.

Rookie of the Year: Scott Wilson, Lowell

Look at the numbers referenced above, combined with the fact that he demolished the rest of the rookies in the scoring race and was the only one with more than 1.00 points per game in league play. Hands down, he’s the winner.

First Team
F – Chris Kreider, BC
F – Brian Flynn, ME
F – Spencer Abbott, ME
D – Karl Stollery, MC
D – Brian Dumoulin, BC
G – Joe Cannata, MC

Second Team
F – Joey Diamond, ME
F – Barry Almeida, BC
F – Scott Wilson, Lowell
D – Adam Clendening, BU
D – Garrett Noonan, BU
G – Doug Carr, Lowell

Freshman Team
F – Scott Wilson, Lowell
F – Johnny Gaudreau, BC
F – Ludwig Karlsson, NU
D – Alexx Privitera, BU
D – Jake Suter, Lowell
G – Casey DeSmith, UNH



2018-19 Men’s Hockey Schedule

5 - vs. Lake Superior State (7pm)
6 - vs. Lake Superior State (7pm)
27 - vs. UMass (Homecoming) (7pm)

28 - vs. Denver (7pm)
31 - vs. Colorado College (4pm)

22 - @ UMass Lowell
23 - vs. UMass Lowell

Date Undetermined
TBD - @ Bentley
TBD - vs. Holy Cross

More in Uncategorized

error: If you would like to re-distribute our content, please e-mail for permission.